100k Blog Views – Thank You!

champagne pop

Today’s a big day for the blog – it has just had its 100,000th visitor!

This seems utterly incredible. When I started it I was completely unsure what I was doing (in fact I’m still not sure!), and didn’t really think that anyone would want to read it. I was completely bowled over when it got to 100 views, and then to 1000.

I’ve been talking to colleagues and students recently about blogging, and how rewarding it can be. It’s great to be able to share some of the fascinating material that we have in our archives, but that might not necessarily be suitable for academic writing. My blog posts have ranged over everything from medical remedies and practitioners, beards and razors, early modern social history, family history and even a 1940s séance!

I find writing the blog, and indeed keeping it going, is a great way of maintaining regular writing. Sometimes, if the academic writing isn’t coming along, a blog post can get things moving again. I’ve also made many great contacts through the blog, and the comments that the post have received have often provided food for thought and raised questions for future research.

But, the main point of this is to say a MASSIVE ‘thank you’ to everyone who’s read, shared, commented on and supported the blog. You’re all fab, and I’m very grateful.

Alun.

6 thoughts on “100k Blog Views – Thank You!

  1. Well done!

    Wilhelm Cortez Executive Editor The Good Men Project

    On Wed, Mar 23, 2016 at 5:09 PM, Dr Alun Withey wrote:

    > Dr Alun Withey posted: ” Today’s a big day for the blog – it has just had > its 100,000th visitor! This seems utterly incredible. When I started it I > was completely unsure what I was doing (in fact I’m still not sure!), and > didn’t really think that anyone would want to read it. ” >

Leave a Reply

